Friendship & Toxicity


Something that has been on my mind is the friendships I have had in my past, particularly with people I am no longer friends with. Sometimes I question why the friendship ended in the first place, is there any chance of reconciling in the future and will there be any gain to it? I lost some close friends, and I gained them back, and it’s been fantastic! Of course there are some where it had been overly toxic and I had to cut the ties for that very reason, toxicity… The fake facade, the back stabbing nature, and the negative influence they tried to push on to me…. I didn’t want that, I never wanted that. So I cut the ties, why on earth would you ever want that in your life?

Then after some years, they try to contact you, they want to be your friend… It’s like they realise they’ve done wrong, so you give them a chance, and then it’s the same thing! So by this point you really need to end it, so you do… It’s a one too many chances situation. Does it make you feel bad to do it? It sure as hell made me feel bad, but in the long run, I formed friendships that will last a lifetime. I have wonderful people in my little life that make me laugh, make me think, and most of all, make me feel loved and valued. The toxicity doesn’t exist in the friendships I have. Sure, the toxic people I knew sometimes try to weed their way back, but I know where I want to be, and those people do not have a place there. They never will, not again.

If you are one of the unlucky ones who has a friend who is toxic, get rid of them. You are outgrowing them and they have no place in your future.

Leave a Reply

